sleeping beauty no more

Once you become older (leaving the teenage life and entering adulthood), you realised it’s not easy to get a good sleep. Remember the good old times in high school & uni when you can stay up until subuh and sleep until noon. Waking up only to the smell of my mom’s homemade lunch. *good old days*.

Once you become a mother, it is twice harder. It begins when you preggy, you will have a hard time finding comfortable position. Then when LO is a baby, sleep is again interrupted with night breastfeeding. The first three months you will be like a zombie. The best tip I got (actually from the series FRIENDS) is to go to sleep whenever LO does. It works, but not all the time. For example, unlike LO, I can’t sleep after Asar prayer as it makes me drowsier when I wake up.

Then after 1-yr and LO has stop bf, you thought you can sleep like normal again. SUPPOSEDLY. But somehow the ‘gift’ was taken away from you. You can try, but it just won’t be the same anymore and I don’t know exactly why. When I was given time off by hubby (away from LO), I still can’t sleep. On the other hand, when I’m very sleepy, my 4-yo won’t let me nap. (not sure whether this apply to fathers though as they usually dozed off quiet easily?).

Anyway, in related to my babbling about sleep…something funny happened last night.

Usually we all go to bed around 1030-11pm. It’s a routine we have to stick to since AE enrolled to formal preschool – so that he won’t be all tired the next morning and can wake up at 730am the latest. Btw, I still think it’s partly psychological coz he can wake up so easily on weekends (without me waking him up!).

Last night I felt slightly tired than usual so I just casually said I want to go to sleep (at 10pm – earlier than scheduled). Surprisingly, AE said “okay, tapi kita nak main dulu kat luar”.

Happily I said okay go ahead, coz it’s not easy that he will let me sleep before him.

Then he said, “mummy sleep kat luar lah. kita nak tengok mummy”.

Trying my luck, I said “Ashman main kat dalam lah. Pergi amik toy.”

Surprisingly he said okay!

Wah best, quickly I climbed on the bed and get into the blanket.

20 seconds later…

DUM!!! DUMMMM!!!! DUM!! DUUUMMMM!!!!

OMG….! There were so many toys outside and he chose to bring in his DRUM!!! Which he rarely played all this while!

and 20 seconds later his dad joined in with the banging. Together with the Perak soccer song. Hmm…memanglah tak dapat tidur. Terima sajalah hakikat…:)

3 responses

Leave a Reply

