playtime with toddlers

Hello sunshine!

I found this recipes online and thought of sharing it with you guys. It is a great easy idea at home activity and is seriously fun!

OOEY-GOOEY
-1 cup of cornstarch
– 1/2 cup of water
*Combine both in a shallow bowl or rimmed baking sheet. It will turn into a substance like quicksand, very interesting.

non-newtonian fluid:)

MINI VOLCANOES
-small bowl
-tray
-baking soda
-white vinegar
-food coloring (optional)
*Set a small bowl on a tray. Place a tablespoon of baking soda into the bowl, add a tablespoon of white vinegar, then sit back and observe the mixture bubble and fizz. You can also tint the vinegar with a few drops of food coloring for a more dramatic eruption.

adding baking soda

Personally, AE prefers the first recipe. I think because he can’t really relate much with volcano just yet. Well, of course these are a bit messy experiments, so we did it outside by the porch.

At toddlers’ age, AE is getting more attached to the tv hence we need to diversify more playtime with him. Well honestly, tv is a very easy out for us. Being maid-less, tv gives us time to do house chores. In fact sometimes we have been too-dependent on tv coz when AE’s on tv, we also get own free time to browse internet, read novels, etc. I always feel guilty about that afterwards coz he only have about 4hours/day on weekday with us.

Plus you know how kids being kids, they have tons of toys at home but they may not be interested in any of it. Unless another kid comes over to play, oh yes..that is the time when all toys come out:). So usually you’ll need new activities to encourage play.

So experiments like above encourage him to switch of the tv and do something more active for the brain. Plus both of us will participate which is great. Yup, although we pretend we watch tv with our kids, the reality is we are usually browsing our phone at the same time. Some people might think that “he can do that at his school, that’s what we pay the school for”. But this is not the same, coz you will be doing it TOGETHER.

I still remember during a career awareness week back in my university, a very successful actuary in U.S came over to give a talk (I forgot his name). During Q&A session, a student ask ‘If he can go back in time, what he would like to change?’. His answer is “I wish I could watch more of my son’s soccer practices”. Well, at that time I was a naive 22 years old; I hardly understood what he meant. I think even the student who asked the question also didn’t expect the answer (we are thinking the answer is more on the line of…I regret I didn’t take my actuarial exams/MBA faster haha). But luckily I still remember his answer so it has been a reminder for myself now.

Talking about toys, when AE was still a baby I visited a relative’s house and saw tons of toys inside a laundry basket. All the small toys mixed up together. The kids took it all out, make a big mess in the living room but I realized that they don’t really play with the toys individually. They just having fun dumping it. Thus at that moment I decided that AE’s toys won’t be like that.

Hence now I use the method similar with the preschool I used to work, put toys in cubbies (which is visible – rather than all lump together), and rotate the toys every now and then so that they won’t get bored of it. It is not messy, AE knows where to put his toys accordingly and even the other kids who come over our house love the area.

toy cubbies; at the corner is his craft area

Buying toy is a bit tricky, you don’t know whether your kid will like it or not. In relation thereto, to avoid clutter, we give away toys that AE shows no interest at. My friend do toys collection for pediatric hospitals, so that work well. From consensus of kids coming to our house, we realize popular toys include play dough and blocks. Oh yeah of coz sand play and painting. (budak bandar jarang dapat main sand hehe).

rolling playdough

stamping is fun, too. This is washable ink from Melissa & Doug.

making ice cream with sand

Some people opine that such educational-toys are a bit expensive. Well, different people have different opinion. For us, the benefit is more in the long-run. My analytical-logical reasoning is easy; how can you say it is expensive when the price is merely 5% of your hand phone price?🙂. Plus, the price is almost equal to all those pasar malam toys added together. [Anyway, I’m just going to recycle the toys for my future preschool insyaAllah].

Please share if you have any more play ideas! See ya later alligator!

*Al-Fatihah to adik Nadirah…it was saddened to think someone could burn a child.

2 responses

  1. Thank you for the toys organization tips. I am now putting them in one big laundry basket, hehe, but will get it organized so that it will be more ‘appealing’ for my baby to play. But what do you meant by “rotate the toys every now and then”? Faliela doesn’t like to play with her toys, probably kids her age are more likely interested with things to chew rather than to play?

  2. Hi dear,
    I agree, it’s even harder to find toys for infant, I read somewhere the best toys for kids Faliela’s age are her parents:). They love to look and hear us talking and singing. Anyway, I kind of trying my luck with the age guidelines at the toy store. At Faliela’s age, Ashman loved toys that make sound whenever we pressed it and of course water play. Of course every child is unique, so you need to trial & error.

    Rotating the toys is also tips from the preschool. You know how many toys kids have these days…so I don’t put all of them there. Some are stored away, and change it after a while. I realize kids prefer new toys (eg: they like any toys at somebody else house), so when you rotate it, they have the similar ‘yeay something new’ feeling. Of course in preschool they rotate it based on themes (animals, nature, my house, etc), I just simply rotate it hehe…I did the same things with books, and it kinda of works. Happy playing!

Leave a Reply

