AE 22 months

This weekend AE will be 22 months. His speech has improved so much for the past month. He added new vocabulary everyday. His first real word? Hmm…I think it is FISH. Yes. I would say it is FISH.

Other than fish, he can now pronounce amongst others WHALE, BOOK, GOAT. He has this favorite character ~ Vince Van Goat in Baby Einstein series. He will laugh whenever he sees the goat’s picture.

He can also says “nak!!” for all the things he want, and “gu” referring to his cikgu (teacher), and “kay” referring to okay when he agrees to something.

AE favorite activity is still water. He likes to use the waterhose now – making his own fountain. Lepas tu, abis laa basah kuyup!

siram siram siram....

His new favorite activity now is scribble. A few months back, AE received a drawing book and magic color as a present, and now the book is already filled with his drawings. He will also asked us to draw goat, fish or lion (AE called lion aumm). Now, he also learned to trace our hands in the book. So far, he had not venture into sribbling anywhere else i.e wall, furniture. I hope he won’t. *Being very hopeful here*

I remembered when he was younger, it was hard to capture him on camera. Amat susah! He won’t smile but instead will come and grab the camera. Somehow, as the months passed by, AE has become camwhore. Dia akan pose dengan gaya macho dan kepala kasik lentok sket. I believe this is Angah’s teaching coz angah yg selalu amik gambar die guna handphone:).

aksi posing di hospital ampang while visiting Angah oncall during raya month

He also starts having fun jumping from the couch. It makes me worried.  Yeah yeah…looks like I have become on of those moms that are over-protective of his child…. even kalau AE plays slide pun it’s hard for me to let go of his hand, instead I will hold him sampai bawah slide tu hehe… Hubby will not like it. Yeah yeah I know I have to let him go. But usually at that moment, my mother instinct comes kicking. So end up hubby akan jaga dia and I watch from far. Kalau macam tu takpe, I will not worry. hehe…

Other than that, of course now he loves watching tv/computer. Kalau time tengok computer, siap nak duduk atas kerusi mcm orang besar and pegang2 mouse lagik! Kalau kat rumah my sister lagik laa nak main laptop! *kids nowadays know laptop! power btol…*

He did not watch cartoon yet, but he loves baby einstein and video clips of kids singing nursery rhymes. He will watch it a few times and then imitate their moves. His favorite now are Itsy Bitsy Spider, ABC song, Hokey Pokey, and most songs that involve movement (i.e clapping, stomping). We have 4 versions of Itsy Bitsy alone in the pc now. Thanks to youtube!

I am aware that watching tv is not healthy for child’s development. If I’m not mistaken for children under 2 years old, it should be limited to 1 hour/day whereas for those above 2 years old should be 2 hours/day.  Thus, I’m trying hard to distract him from tv. I try to reason with him something like “let’s play/read first, we’ll watch tv later when we are going to sleep”.  Alhamdulilah, so far he is cooperative.

Unless, he’s down with flu/cold, I’ll let him watch tv all day long. That’s the best way for him to relax and for me to stay sane:).

I'm a big boy now okay

Some of my friends who saw AE during raya said he has become anak teruna. hehe…Memang muka dia nampak matured walaupun umur sebenarnya belum mencecah usia 2 tahun. Tapi muka jer la kan… hakikatnya masih breastfeeding. We are going to stop BF soon, when he turn 2 years old InsyaAllah. So mummies, any good tips to recommend on how to stop?? I certainly need some advices here as AE will usually go to sleep while BF.

our 'anak teruna'🙂

I actually feel bad coz for the past months we did not really spend time with him as much as we should. For example, we have not swim and paint with him anymore. Perhaps we are so busy with raya open house every weekend. Sebelum tu pulak puasa kan. So now that raya is finally over, I hope we can spend more time together doing fun activity contributing to his development. InsyaAllah. Let’s have some fun honey bun!!!!

my honey bun:)

Leave a Reply

