Ramadhan Memories

As people grow older, they tend to forget the wonderful memories of childhood. Example – the 1st book they read, the first toy, the first fasting day…I’m just going to jot down some of my wonderful ramadhan memories before I myself become old and forget this things…

First Fasting Day…
I first fast when I was 6 years old. Only 1 day:). But when I was 7 years old, I start to fast more – 29 days to be exact. Coz daddy promised me RM1 for each day I fast. Motivated by money, I fast for the full month when I was 8 years old. hehe…
 

Memorable Sahur Moments…
1. Since I was a kid, I hate sahur coz it was so hard to wake up. I usually gobble the food in 5 minutes and quickly go back to sleep. There was one time when I was 5-6 years old, I had finished eating and trying to get back to sleep (others are still downstairs) when I saw a white figure at my bedroom door. I was very sure it was not a dream as my eyes were wide open. But was it a ghost? How can it be coz it was ramadhan month. That made me a bit calm. I wanted to go back downstairs.  But how? Coz the ‘subject’ was at the door. I just try to recite whatever surah I can remember and close my eyes until I finally fell asleep. Surprisingly I was kinda brave at that time. Kids are like that I suppose.  

2. Towards the end of ramadhan month, I will help mum bake hari raya cookies after sahur. We will make corn flakes, jam tart, and there’s this cookies where you have to press the top with a fork, and another one where you put cherry on the top. Mom said I was very helpful (not anymore!).

3. Once when I sahur with my friend at MRSM, there was no electricity. Only a generator at the dining hall. When we arrived right in front of the line only we realised that my friend wear her baju kurung inside out! The staff even realised it. hehe…

Favourite Sahur Food
As I hate to wake up and eat, nothing really entice me to eat. But mom works really hard to make sure I eat. Thus she sometimes cook nasi goreng or nasik lemak. It really works! I will eat a lot if she did that…(sekarang dah besar baru sedar betapa mak aku kena bangun awal untuk buat nasik lemak…). She will also makes hot tea. I remember sometimes we had sup daging. Mom said because daddy has diabetes so he needs meat for his diet. I hate it coz the you can feel the ‘lemak’ inside your mouth later…hehe… 

Memorable Breaking – Fast Moments…
1. When I was young, mom make sure I drink milk for buka puasa. But I also want the cold drinks. So there will usually be cincau or soya as well. We never go to pasar ramadhan coz mom said the food ain’t good. (now I realised what she meant – seriously home cook is the best!)

2. Sometimes coz I was such a good girl (buwekk buweekk), daddy will buy me the A&W root beer pitcher for breaking-fast. Every hour I keep on checking the pitcher in fridge hehe… My sister and I will try make float by adding our own ice cream but it didn’t taste the same.

3. While I was in States, fasting month fall during winter so we will break fast around 4.30pm. Usually I was still in class or at work at that time. So we had to break fast with chocolate bar or whatever. But surprisingly there’s no pang of hunger of wanting to eat-all-you-can.  

Favorite Break-fast food
Oh..this list can go endlessly especially time tengah puasa nie kan hehe…
1. air tebu/air kelapa – I know if you break-fast with warm water is the best but seriously can’t resist these cooling drinks!
2. bubur lambuk – my favorite is from kg. baru! Dulu ofismate lama selalu kasik coz his hubby was the AJK there. Sekarang dah takde sape nak tolong pergi que for me…
3. Popia basah – I hardly eat kuih, but this one I like! hehe…
4. My mom’s nasik lemak…hehe…
5. My MIL’s beef rendang. Memang sedap…

Fire-crackers Moments
We hardly play any fire crackers coz mom said it was expensive/dangerous. But sometimes she did buy for us the cat’s eyes bunga api… Tapi bila dah lewat malam, selalunya boley dengar dentum-dentam outside the house. Tapi takde pulak berita pasal orang cedera teruk mcm zaman sekarang nie…

Tarawih Moments…
When I was in high school, we (me, along, angah) went to tarawih at nearby mosque – jalan kaki je. Tapi selalu nak balik cepat2 coz nak tengok Spanar Jaya at 9.30pm. Boley? hahaha…

Favorite Param
As mentioned, we hardly go to param coz mom said it was membazir and the food was not fresh. Tapi bila dah besar we usually go during weekend. Usually to buy air tebu. Hubby sometimes buy murtabak.
1. We love param at AU Keramat (popia dia sedap – kena letak nama 1 day before okay!).
2. The one at hubby’s kampung has a delicious murtabak where it is filled with minced meat and no onion. RM1 je pulak tu!🙂.
3. While studying at PPP Shah Alam, the Sect 18 param was heaven. Besar nak mampus penat keliling and rambang mata tak tau nak beli ape..hehe…

Okie..I’m gonna tag a few friends to share their Ramadhan memories, too…
1. Suria,
2. Suharti,
3. Noris,
4. Atique,
5. Faz,
6. everyone else who feels like it!

Happy Fasting!

Leave a Reply

