from my bookshelf

Remember my entry here about the movies I missed / books I read? It has been 5 months ago and I’ve made some progress. I’d manage to watch one movie from the list – Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince! Yeay!!! *Tak kisahlah walaupun dah lama release, finally I got to watch it.* Walaupun satu jer dapat gak dapat cross out dari my wish list🙂.

I also watched Avatar, but after 15 minutes decided I’m not into that kind of movie so hubby watched it alone. Hubby pulak suka sangat sampai tengok ulang2! We managed to watch Up but only halfway and still no opportunity to finish the whole movie. Also halfway of Princess & Frog, and hmmm….10% of X Men Wolverine. hahaha…kesian. Anyway, thanks to Along who downloaded the movies.

On the other hand, I manage to finish a few good books while accompanying AE watching his baby einstein video. Yup, that’s how his night time pattern is now. For bedtime, he wanted to watch baby einstein in the bedroom while breastfeeding – sampai tertido. Which left reading an only option to me (other than watching that video!). Well, hubby and I now have literally mastered all baby einstein’s dvds. We know what scene coming next, even what sound coming..either the duck wacking, or that monkey winggling, or that dragon blah…OMG, we are seriously comitted parents now🙂

Okay, here I’ll share my reviews of the books I’ve read since the last entry:

1. Twenties Girl – Kinsella

As always, Kinsella has never fail to entertain me. This time she ventured into the other side of the world ~ ghost. But a funny one it is! (I will not read serious ghost story..no no no…). Yes, I’m a coward:). Recommended this book to those who love chick lit and humor. Will not fail you. 4/5

2. The Last Song – Nicholas Spark

I’ve expected something like A Walk to Remember, and yes…it is something like that. Teenager’s 1st love, plus some teen rebellious act. I can imagine Miley Cyrus while reading it. 3.5/5

3. The Choice – Susan Lewis

 Lately I was attracted to stories involving motherhood and this is one of it. Although, I don’t aspect the Tay-Sachs disease part. Okay, this is a spoiler so please don’t read this part if you want to read this book.  Basically, the baby in this book inherited Tay-Sachs , a disease where the baby appear healthy for the first 6 months in his life, but later both mental and pyhsical abilities  starts to deteriorate. He will become blind, deaf, and unable to swallow. No treatment. Death usually at age of 4. Can you imagine, how the mom feels? Where the mummy and baby has developed such a lovely bonding for 6 months only to have a sad ending. I never know about this disease until I read this book.  3/5

4. A Walk to Remember – Nicholas Spark

I’ve watched the movie many times but never read the book. But after reading The Last Song, I thought I should give the book a try. Unlike other film adapted from novel, I think this one gives the book justice. The storyline does not stray from original book. This time I imagine Mandy Moore while reading. Btw, isn’t she such a sweetie!  3.5/5

5. The Last Empress – Anchee Min

This is the continuation from Empress Orchid. How China starts to crumble. The monarch was distracted with bribery, woman and drugs. Good for those who loves history and something for a change. But you have to read Empress Orchid first. 3.5/5

6. Love in Present Tense – Catherine Ryan Hyde

About the little boy above who was really strong, in spite losing his mother at a young age. I admire the boy’s faith. He believes his mother loves him forever – to him it meant whatever happens, the mother will always love him. To realise that at the age of 6 was amazing. 3/5

7. The Book of Tomorrow – Cecilia Ahern

I love this book! It just suites me. It is about Tamara who lose her father at suicide and from being a rich city girl has to settle down at a her uncle’s house at countryside. Some mystery things happened there. She found a book that now what is going to happen tomorrow. I really like the idea. How you would like to change your future, something like that. I think this is one of her best after P.S I Luv You. 4.5/5

8. One Season of Sunshine – Julia London

The story is a bit like The Sound of Music , only modernized. About an adopted teacher who looking for her birth mom. She became a nanny and later develop romance with the father of 2 children. So-so to me. Maybe coz I’m not adopted? I can guess who her mother was at very early of the story.  3/5.

Rite now I’m reading Lagenda Budak Setan…hahahahaha…talk about changes! *Sajer nak imbas kenangan lama:)

Happy Fasting!

3 responses

  1. haven’t been reading story books for a while. dok baca textbook je. i bought dan brown’s the lost symbol yg hard cover lagi, semangat laa konon, haven’t even read a single page. haih!

  2. hi dieya, you tgh study ape? oh yeah…hard cover is really hard to read. I always wanted to khatam my harry potter book, tapi berat tul nak pegang sambil baring. takut terkena kepala ashman nanti;)

  3. Pingback: Kaki Komplen Malaya

Leave a Reply

