birthday reminder…

Prior to midnight last Wednesday, my handphone prompted a birthday reminder. I did not need to see the screen to know whose birthday is it. It was our dear friend mak yam’s birthday. I clicked ‘OK’ on my handphone and saw her face, the phone prompted: “set reminder next year?” hmm…I am motionless.

Since the birth of my son, I have never mentioned her out loud. Neither in the blog nor verbally. The truth is I remembered her so much.
I remembered her cheery smile on the graduation day.
I remembered she treated us coffee & cheesecake when she received her first salary.
I remembered she came all the way to accompany us to eat Taiping Yong Tau Foo.
I remembered how she was in pain on the hospital bed, with wires surrounding.
I remembered her peaceful face on her last day…

But to remember her makes me feel guilty. I feel guilty that I’m enjoying myself embracing the little one. I feel selfish that I’m having so much fun. Her parents even called to wish us, and hoping to see the baby. Again, I felt guilty that we have not paid them a visit since the day she passed.

Although she lives up north, I know if she is still alive she will be amongst those who would visit my baby. I know if she is still alive, she would be the one I call during my maternity leaves to share my tiredness.

To recall how much she has helped me (during my wedding, my work, my relationship) makes me full with regret that I did not spend much time with her during her suffering. I should have visits her more often. Maybe even sleepover. Bak kata orang boley kira dgn jari berapa kali jer aku visit dia. If only I knew I will never talk to her again… If only I realized how much she has suffered before it’s too late…

I know life goes on but nothing can erase what she had given me:- joy, strength, and a shoulder to cry on.. People say time will heal the pain but the reality is there is no such thing. Happy birthday dear friend. We will meet again, one day.

Leave a Reply

